Journal IF NavigatorMedical journal Impact Factors by specialty — JCR 2025

Journals that accept case reports

English-language journals that accept case reports, with fees, word limits and PubMed indexing. Many major journals have stopped taking case reports, but every field has dedicated case-report journals, and Japanese society journals remain an option. Click a row for the acceptance conditions.

–
JournalIFCase reportsConditionsWord limitOAAPCPubMedFirst decision (days)
CureusGeneral · Springer Nature–YesFree if up to 5 authors, up to 20 references and few formatting/English deficiencies. At least 1 figure required. Removed from Web of Science in 2025; no IF. Indexed in PMC–OAFree✓–
Case reports: Free if up to 5 authors, up to 20 references and few formatting/English deficiencies. At least 1 figure required. Removed from Web of Science in 2025; no IF. Indexed in PMC
Fees: Free if conditions are met. Otherwise paid editing (average US$400, up to US$1,400)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Cardiology CasesCardiology · Elsevier (Japanese College of Cardiology)–YesUnder 1,500 words, 80-word learning objective1500hybridFree✓–
Case reports: Under 1,500 words, 80-word learning objective
Fees: Standard publication free. OA option available (amount not stated)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
NMC Case Report JournalNeurosurgery · Japan Neurosurgical Society–Yes4,000 words / up to 5 pages. Upload IRB approval letter at submission4000OAFree✓–
Case reports: 4,000 words / up to 5 pages. Upload IRB approval letter at submission
Fees: No APC
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Nippon Medical SchoolGeneral · Medical Association of Nippon Medical School–Yes3,000 words (including title page, abstract, references and tables)3000OAUS$67✓–
Case reports: 3,000 words (including title page, abstract, references and tables)
Fees: Processing fee ¥10,000 plus page charge ¥10,000/page
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Rural MedicineGeneral · Japanese Association of Rural Medicine–Yes200-word abstract–OAUS$200✓–
Case reports: 200-word abstract
Fees: ¥30,000/article. Waived for society members
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Internal Medicine (Tokyo)General1.0YesCase reports welcomed. 100-word abstract; no stated limit on main text or figures/tables–OAUS$300?–
Article types: Original Article / Case Report / Review / Letter / Pictures in Clinical Medicine
Case reports: Case reports welcomed. 100-word abstract; no stated limit on main text or figures/tables
Fees: No APC. Non-members pay a US$300 submission fee (waived for members)
Reporting guidelines: Declaration of Helsinki, IRB approval
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMJ Case ReportsGeneral · BMJ–YesSubmission requires a BMJ Case Reports Fellowship (individual £345/year, unlimited submissions for 12 months). Free with an institutional agreement. Global health report 4,000 words, Images 500 words2000hybridUS$450✓47
Case reports: Submission requires a BMJ Case Reports Fellowship (individual £345/year, unlimited submissions for 12 months). Free with an institutional agreement. Global health report 4,000 words, Images 500 words
Fees: Fellowship £345/year (approx. US$450) includes publication fee. OA option £499
Acceptance rate: 39%
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Orthopaedic Case ReportsOrthopedics · Indian Orthopaedic Research Group–Yes2,000 words, 350-word abstract, 10-30 references. Ethics committee approval number and consent statement required2000OAUS$450✓–
Case reports: 2,000 words, 350-word abstract, 10-30 references. Ethics committee approval number and consent statement required
Fees: Case report US$450
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
ACG Case Reports JournalGastroenterology–YesCase report specialist journal in gastroenterology and hepatology (ACG, fellow-edited). First author must be a resident, fellow, student, non-physician provider or practicing physician. Under 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, up to 20 references, up to 6 image panels. Consent required1000OAUS$500✓–
Article types: Case Report / Image / Video
Case reports: Case report specialist journal in gastroenterology and hepatology (ACG, fellow-edited). First author must be a resident, fellow, student, non-physician provider or practicing physician. Under 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, up to 20 references, up to 6 image panels. Consent required
Fees: Non-members US$500. Free if the corresponding author is an ACG member
Peer review: single-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
JACC: Case ReportsCardiology · Elsevier (ACC)–Yes1,500 words (including references and figure legends), 50-word abstract, learning objectives required, up to 10 authors1500OAUS$600✓–
Case reports: 1,500 words (including references and figure legends), 50-word abstract, learning objectives required, up to 10 authors
Fees: US$600. 25% discount for ACC members and trainees
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Surgical Case ReportsGastroenterology0.7YesCase report specialist journal. Transferred from SpringerOpen to the Japan Surgical Society (J-STAGE) in 2025–OAUS$630?4
Article types: Case Report / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Transferred from SpringerOpen to the Japan Surgical Society (J-STAGE) in 2025
Fees: Non-members ¥95,000, Japan Surgical Society members ¥30,000 (excluding tax)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Radiology Case ReportsRadiology · Elsevier (University of Washington)–YesNo JCR impact factor assigned (Scopus CiteScore 1.1). Specialist journal for case reports involving diagnostic imaging. Publishes case reports only. Literature review required. Main text structured as Introduction / Case report / Discussion––US$660✓–
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: No JCR impact factor assigned (Scopus CiteScore 1.1). Specialist journal for case reports involving diagnostic imaging. Publishes case reports only. Literature review required. Main text structured as Introduction / Case report / Discussion
Fees: Fully OA. Default license CC BY-NC-ND; can be changed to CC BY after acceptance if required by a funder. APC amount not stated in the guidelines (see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: Not specified (CARE not explicitly stated)
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of Case ReportsGeneral · International Scientific Information (ISI)0.8YesCase report specialist journal. Follows the ICMJE uniform requirements. Strict formatting (Times New Roman 12pt, 1-inch margins, 1.5 line spacing, left-aligned; indents, page breaks, line numbers and numbered headings not allowed). Non-compliant manuscripts are returned without peer review. Title page, main text, tables and figures as separate files. SI units; abbreviations not allowed in title or abstract. Reviewer suggestions allowed (final selection by the editorial office). Plagiarism screening at all submission stages (including self-plagiarism; if detected, rejected with no refund of fees paid)––US$1,100✓45
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Follows the ICMJE uniform requirements. Strict formatting (Times New Roman 12pt, 1-inch margins, 1.5 line spacing, left-aligned; indents, page breaks, line numbers and numbered headings not allowed). Non-compliant manuscripts are returned without peer review. Title page, main text, tables and figures as separate files. SI units; abbreviations not allowed in title or abstract. Reviewer suggestions allowed (final selection by the editorial office). Plagiarism screening at all submission stages (including self-plagiarism; if detected, rejected with no refund of fees paid)
Fees: Charged only on acceptance (submission and peer review free). US$1,100. No waivers or discounts by country, affiliation or financial status. Approx. 14 weeks from acceptance to publication
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Acute Medicine & SurgeryEmergency1.3YesOnly cases of particularly high novelty. Up to 1,500 words (including abstract and references), structured abstract 150 words, up to 3 figures/tables, under 10 references. May be reassigned to Letter–OAUS$1,125?–
Article types: Original Article / Brief Communication / Case Report / Review / Mini Review / Case Image / Letter
Case reports: Only cases of particularly high novelty. Up to 1,500 words (including abstract and references), structured abstract 150 words, up to 3 figures/tables, under 10 references. May be reassigned to Letter
Fees: Case report US$1,125, original article US$675 (society covers 70%), Case Image US$500. 3,000-word limit includes abstract and references
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Case Reports in GastroenterologyGastroenterology0.7YesCase report specialist journal. CARE checklist required, literature review demonstrating novelty required, up to 6 authors. Median 22 weeks to final decision–OAUS$1,450?–
Article types: Single Case / Case Series / Case and Review
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. CARE checklist required, literature review demonstrating novelty required, up to 6 authors. Median 22 weeks to final decision
Fees: US$1,450
Reporting guidelines: CARE
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
International Journal of Surgery Case ReportsSurgery · Wolters Kluwer (Lippincott)0.6YesSister OA journal of International Journal of Surgery. Covers all surgical fields. Case Report: main text up to 1,500 words (excluding references), up to 3 figures/tables; structure: structured abstract / Introduction / Presentation of Case / Discussion / Conclusion / Acknowledgements / References. Case Series up to 4,000 words (excluding references). Letter: 750 words, 1 figure/table, 3 authors, up to 10 references. Main text 1.5 line spacing, 10-12pt. Title page as a separate file from the main text (no author information in the main text for double-blind review). References in AMA (JAMA) style with superscript numbers. No trial registration required for case reports and case series1500–US$1,500✓–
Article types: Case Report / Case Series / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Sister OA journal of International Journal of Surgery. Covers all surgical fields. Case Report: main text up to 1,500 words (excluding references), up to 3 figures/tables; structure: structured abstract / Introduction / Presentation of Case / Discussion / Conclusion / Acknowledgements / References. Case Series up to 4,000 words (excluding references). Letter: 750 words, 1 figure/table, 3 authors, up to 10 references. Main text 1.5 line spacing, 10-12pt. Title page as a separate file from the main text (no author information in the main text for double-blind review). References in AMA (JAMA) style with superscript numbers. No trial registration required for case reports and case series
Fees: Case Report US$1,500 / Case Series US$2,090 (until 31 December 2026). Charged on acceptance, payable by credit card within 30 days. Full waiver for Research4Life Group A countries, 50% waiver for Group B (applied automatically by the corresponding author's country). CC license chosen from 6 options after acceptance
Reporting guidelines: Required: SCARE for surgical case reports, CARE for medical case reports, PROCESS or STROBE for case series. Submit the completed checklist as supplementary material and state compliance in the main text
Peer review: double-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Respiratory Medicine Case ReportsRespiratory · Elsevier0.8YesSister OA journal of Respiratory Medicine. Covers clinical case reports in respiratory medicine and case reports based on thoracic ultrasound. Must be of educational and clinical interest to an international readership. No limits on word count, figures/tables or references stated in the guidelines. Submission of Highlights (3-5 items, up to 85 characters each) recommended––US$1,540✓–
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Sister OA journal of Respiratory Medicine. Covers clinical case reports in respiratory medicine and case reports based on thoracic ultrasound. Must be of educational and clinical interest to an international readership. No limits on word count, figures/tables or references stated in the guidelines. Submission of Highlights (3-5 items, up to 85 characters each) recommended
Fees: Fully OA (APC amount not stated in the guidelines; see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCTs), ARRIVE (animal studies). CARE not explicitly stated
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Australian Critical CareCritical care3.6YesUp to 2,500 words; signed consent required–hybridUS$1,700?–
Article types: Original research / Brief research reports / Reviews / Case studies / Discussion papers / Study protocols / Letters
Case reports: Up to 2,500 words; signed consent required
Fees: US$1,700 (ACCCN members US$1,360)
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Medical Case ReportsGeneral · BMC0.8YesStructured abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions). Patient's ethnic background must be stated in the abstract and case presentation. IF 0.8–OAUS$1,775✓97
Case reports: Structured abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions). Patient's ethnic background must be stated in the abstract and case presentation. IF 0.8
Fees: Case report £1,160 / US$1,775 / €1,525
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Case ReportsGeneral · Wiley0.6YesCase report specialist journal. Emphasizes the educational message over novelty; common conditions allowed. 1,000-3,000 words, 50-word Key Clinical Message required (abstract optional). Case series up to 3 cases. Consent form required3000OAUS$1,910✓–
Article types: Case Report / Case Image / Case Video / Case Series (up to 3 cases) / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Emphasizes the educational message over novelty; common conditions allowed. 1,000-3,000 words, 50-word Key Clinical Message required (abstract optional). Case series up to 3 cases. Consent form required
Fees: APC applies (see the Wiley OA page; US$1,910 per third-party sites). Waivers for low-income countries only
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical Care ExplorationsCritical care2.9Yes800-1,500 words, 150-word abstract, up to 3 figures/tables, CARE checklist, consent required. APC US$1,050–OAUS$2,150?–
Article types: Original Clinical Report / Observational/Cohort Study / Narrative Review / Systematic Review / Case Report / Research Report / Quality Improvement Report / Study Protocol / Letter
Case reports: 800-1,500 words, 150-word abstract, up to 3 figures/tables, CARE checklist, consent required. APC US$1,050
Fees: Original articles US$2,150; case reports etc. US$950-1,050 (2026)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / TRIPOD / CARE
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Medicine (Baltimore)General · Wolters Kluwer2.0YesCase report is a formal article type. Consent statement following CARE guidelines required. Novelty and impact are not assessed (scientific and ethical soundness only)–OAUS$2,250✓30
Article types: Original Study / Narrative Review / Case Report / Study Protocol / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report is a formal article type. Consent statement following CARE guidelines required. Novelty and impact are not assessed (scientific and ethical soundness only)
Fees: Original articles and case reports US$2,250, Narrative Review US$1,750. Waivers for low- and middle-income countries
Reporting guidelines: CARE (case reports), various EQUATOR guidelines
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Medicine (RCP)General · Elsevier (Royal College of Physicians)3.9YesThree case report sections: Acute medical care (150-word abstract, 1,000-word main text, 1 figure/table, 5 references; acute cases from ED to ward in case-based discussion format; complexity required, e.g. diagnostic uncertainty, multimorbidity, ethical dilemmas; 4-6 learning points) / Lessons of the month (150 words, 1,000 words, 4 figures/tables, 10 references) / Images of the month (no abstract, 500 words, 4 figures/tables, 5 references). All require clear educational value. CARE guideline compliance plus completed CARE checklist attached; statement of written consent in the main text required1000OAUS$2,400✓–
Article types: Full Length Article (Original research) / Review (narrative / systematic) / Concise guidance / CME (invited) / Quality improvement / Opinion / Acute medical care (case-based discussion) / Lessons of the month / Images of the month / Foundation column / Lectures (invited) / Conference report (invited) / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Three case report sections: Acute medical care (150-word abstract, 1,000-word main text, 1 figure/table, 5 references; acute cases from ED to ward in case-based discussion format; complexity required, e.g. diagnostic uncertainty, multimorbidity, ethical dilemmas; 4-6 learning points) / Lessons of the month (150 words, 1,000 words, 4 figures/tables, 10 references) / Images of the month (no abstract, 500 words, 4 figures/tables, 5 references). All require clear educational value. CARE guideline compliance plus completed CARE checklist attached; statement of written consent in the main text required
Fees: Fully gold OA since January 2024. RCP members and fellows get a 100% waiver after acceptance (membership number must be provided). 3,000-word limit for original articles excludes tables, figure legends and references. Structured abstract: Study Objective / Design / Setting / Participants / Interventions / Main Outcome Measure(s) / Results / Conclusions. Highlights (3-5 items, 85 characters each) required; Graphical Abstract required for original articles and reviews. Review: 150-word abstract, 3,000 words, 4 figures/tables, 50 references
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR required (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, CARE, COREQ, SQUIRE 2.0, CHEERS, SAMPL). RCTs must state the trial registration number in Methods
Peer review: double-blind; preprints not allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Scandinavian Journal of Trauma, Resuscitation and Emergency MedicineEmergency3.6YesNovelty criteria apply (rare adverse effects, atypical presentations, etc.). CARE recommended; consent required–OAUS$2,690?–
Article types: Research / Review / Case Report / Comment / Study Protocol / Guideline
Case reports: Novelty criteria apply (rare adverse effects, atypical presentations, etc.). CARE recommended; consent required
Fees: £1,990 / US$2,690 / €2,290 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
PancreatologyGastroenterology3.9YesAccepted in Rapid communication format–hybridUS$3,000?–
Article types: Original articles / Rapid communications / Review / Letters / Case reports
Case reports: Accepted in Rapid communication format
Fees: US$3,000
Open the Guide for Authors →
Frontiers in MedicineGeneral · Frontiers3.6YesOnly cases that substantially advance the field. Title must be 'Case Report: ...'; CARE checklist attached3000OAUS$3,100✓–
Case reports: Only cases that substantially advance the field. Title must be 'Case Report: ...'; CARE checklist attached
Fees: B-type CHF 2,500 (approx. US$3,100)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMC SurgerySurgery · BMC2.4YesCase report / Case series listed as article types. IF 2.4–OAUS$3,190✓16
Case reports: Case report / Case series listed as article types. IF 2.4
Fees: £2,390 / US$3,190 / €2,690
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
International Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency1.9YesUp to 1,500 words, 350-word abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions), consent required–OAUS$3,190?–
Article types: Research / Brief Report / Review / Case Report / Image / Educational Advances / Practice Innovations
Case reports: Up to 1,500 words, 350-word abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions), consent required
Fees: £2,390 / US$3,190 / €2,690 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMC GastroenterologyGastroenterology3.2YesCase Report is an article type–OAUS$3,390?11
Article types: Research article / Study protocol / Review / Systematic Review / Case Report / Comment
Case reports: Case Report is an article type
Fees: £2,590 / US$3,390 / €2,890
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Heart Journal - Case ReportsCardiology · Oxford University Press (ESC)0.7YesUp to 1,200 words, structured abstract, up to 5 authors, 2-3 learning points. IF 0.71200OAUS$3,625✓–
Case reports: Up to 1,200 words, structured abstract, up to 5 authors, 2-3 learning points. IF 0.7
Fees: US$3,625. ESC members 30-40% discount. Covered by Read & Publish
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Surgical Case ReportsSurgery · Oxford University Press0.5YesCase report: 1,000 words, 15 references, 10 images. Case series: 2,000 words, 25 references. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.51000OAUS$3,625✓–
Case reports: Case report: 1,000 words, 15 references, 10 images. Case series: 2,000 words, 25 references. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.5
Fees: OUP fee page lists US$3,625 (20% discount for society members). Third-party sites list US$945 (unverified)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Oxford Medical Case ReportsGeneral · Oxford University Press0.6YesUp to 1,000 words (excluding abstract), 3-6 keywords. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.6. Consent statement required1000OAUS$3,625✓–
Case reports: Up to 1,000 words (excluding abstract), 3-6 keywords. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.6. Consent statement required
Fees: OUP fee page lists US$3,625 (20% discount for society members). Third-party sites list US$1,180 (unverified)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
World Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology7.7YesCase Report is an article type. CARE recommended–OAUS$3,668?–
Article types: Review / Minireview / Retrospective Study / Observational Study / Randomized Controlled Trial / Basic Study / Systematic Review / Meta-Analysis / Case Report / Letter
Case reports: Case Report is an article type. CARE recommended
Fees: Standard US$3,668; Young Scholar US$3,353
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / CARE (recommended)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology0.8YesPrimarily a case report journal. Original cases with educational value welcomed. 200-word abstract, up to 10 authors, up to 9 cases–hybridUS$4,290?3
Article types: Case Reports / Clinical Reviews / Letters to the Editor
Case reports: Primarily a case report journal. Original cases with educational value welcomed. 200-word abstract, up to 10 authors, up to 9 cases
Fees: Free under the subscription model. Open Choice £2,790 / US$4,290
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency · Elsevier2.9YesED cases only. Unstructured abstract up to 250 words; up to 5 authors. Ultrasound case reports generally not allowed1500––?–
Article types: Original Contribution / Brief Report / Review / Case Report / Correspondence / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: ED cases only. Unstructured abstract up to 250 words; up to 5 authors. Ultrasound case reports generally not allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical Care and ResuscitationCritical care · Elsevier3.2YesUnstructured abstract up to 100 words summarizing the case and why it is noteworthy2500––?42
Article types: Original Article / Survey / Structured Review / Meta-analysis / Review / Case Report / Point of View / Editorial / Pro-con Debate / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Unstructured abstract up to 100 words summarizing the case and why it is noteworthy
Open the Guide for Authors →
Diabetology InternationalEndocrinology · Springer (Japan Diabetes Society)1.1YesUp to 5 printed pages (approx. 3,600 words, including references), up to 2 figures/tables, literature review required. Indexed in PMC. IF 1.13600hybrid–✓18
Case reports: Up to 5 printed pages (approx. 3,600 words, including references), up to 2 figures/tables, literature review required. Indexed in PMC. IF 1.1
Fees: Free under the subscription model. Open Choice fee not stated
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Case ReportsEndocrinology · Bioscientifica–YesCase report specialist journal in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism (Society for Endocrinology). Dedicated template required, consent form required, patient's perspective welcomed. Peer review decision usually within 1 month–OA–✓30
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Case report specialist journal in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism (Society for Endocrinology). Dedicated template required, consent form required, patient's perspective welcomed. Peer review decision usually within 1 month
Fees: APC invoiced on publication (fee on a separate page). Society member discount available
Peer review: single-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Journal of Gastroenterology & HepatologyGastroenterology2.1YesCase report is a formal article type. Up to 3,500 words, unstructured abstract. Consent statement required3500hybrid–?–
Article types: Review / Original Paper / Short Article / Case Report / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report is a formal article type. Up to 3,500 words, unstructured abstract. Consent statement required
Fees: OA fee per the Wolters Kluwer price list. Short article 2,500 words, Letter 1,500 words
Reporting guidelines: ICMJE; trial registration required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
IDCasesInfectious diseases · Elsevier0.9YesSpecialist journal for single cases and case series in infectious diseases. Reports from veterinary and zoonotic perspectives also accepted. Structure: Cover Page / Abstract / Introduction / Case / Discussion / Acknowledgements / COI / References. Image-based Case Illustrated section: main text up to 400 words, under 5 references (identifiable clinical images require patient permission). Mayo Clinic and HIV editions of Curated Case Reports are invited2500––✓–
Article types: Case Report / Case Illustrated / Curated Case Reports (invited)
Case reports: Specialist journal for single cases and case series in infectious diseases. Reports from veterinary and zoonotic perspectives also accepted. Structure: Cover Page / Abstract / Introduction / Case / Discussion / Acknowledgements / COI / References. Image-based Case Illustrated section: main text up to 400 words, under 5 references (identifiable clinical images require patient permission). Mayo Clinic and HIV editions of Curated Case Reports are invited
Fees: Fully OA (APC amount not stated in the guidelines; see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCTs). CARE not explicitly stated
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
JACEP OpenEmergency2.3YesUp to 1,500 words, 250-word abstract, up to 2 figures/tables. Limited to unreported or unusual cases (old Wiley rules; now transferred to Elsevier)–OA–?–
Article types: Original Research / Brief Report / Review / Systematic Review / Clinical Concepts / Case Report / Images in EM / Videos in EM / Letter
Case reports: Up to 1,500 words, 250-word abstract, up to 2 figures/tables. Limited to unreported or unusual cases (old Wiley rules; now transferred to Elsevier)
Fees: APC applies (amount on a separate page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT required; STROBE/STARD/PRISMA recommended
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency · Elsevier1.6YesCase Presentations category available. Main text in 4 parts: Introduction / Case Report / Discussion / Why should an emergency physician be aware of this?; abstract uses the same headings–––?–
Article types: Original Contribution / Clinical Communication / Selected Topics / Techniques and Procedures / Case Presentation / Visual Diagnosis in Emergency Medicine / Ultrasound in Emergency Medicine / Editorial / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case Presentations category available. Main text in 4 parts: Introduction / Case Report / Discussion / Why should an emergency physician be aware of this?; abstract uses the same headings
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of General and Family MedicineGeneral · Wiley (Japan Primary Care Association)–YesCase report: 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, 2 figures/tables, 10 references. Clinical or educational significance required. Consent statement required1000OA–✓–
Article types: Review / Original Article / Preliminary Communication / Case Report / Clinical Image / Clinical Problem Solving / Research Letter
Case reports: Case report: 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, 2 figures/tables, 10 references. Clinical or educational significance required. Consent statement required
Fees: APC: see the Wiley OA page. Discount for Japan Primary Care Association members (1 year or more). No submission fee
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Prehospital Emergency CareEmergency2.0YesAs Case Conference. Unstructured abstract 350 words, consent required–hybrid–?–
Article types: Original Research / Preliminary Report / Case Conference / Position Paper / Systematic Review / Letter
Case reports: As Case Conference. Unstructured abstract 350 words, consent required
Fees: Open Select fee: see the T&F APC finder
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Respirology Case ReportsRespiratory · Wiley (APSR)–YesCase report specialist journal (APSR). Main text 900 words (1,500 words for 2 cases), 150-word abstract, 5 references, up to 2 figures and 2 tables. Dedicated template and consent form required. Indexed in PMC900OA–✓–
Article types: Case Report / Case Series / Clinical Image / Case Video / Clinical Trial Protocol
Case reports: Case report specialist journal (APSR). Main text 900 words (1,500 words for 2 cases), 150-word abstract, 5 references, up to 2 figures and 2 tables. Dedicated template and consent form required. Indexed in PMC
Fees: APC: see the Wiley OA page. APSR member discount available
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →

“Yes” = case reports are a formal article type. “Limited” = only short formats such as Image, Letter or Clinical Note, or accepted by exception. APC is the publication charge (hybrid journals are usually free under the subscription model). Many Japanese society journals offer member discounts.

Frequently asked questions

Are there English-language journals that publish case reports for free?

Yes. Cureus (free within its conditions, indexed in PMC), JMA Journal, NMC Case Report Journal, Journal of Cardiology Cases (free under the subscription model) and Internal Medicine (submission fee waived for members of the Japanese Society of Internal Medicine), among others. ACG Case Reports Journal is free for ACG members, and Journal of Rural Medicine is free for society members.

Are fewer major journals accepting case reports?

Yes. Intensive Care Medicine, Critical Care Medicine, Journal of Gastroenterology, Liver International, American Journal of Gastroenterology and many other major journals have stopped accepting case reports and take only short formats such as Images or Letters. Dedicated case-report journals in each field (ACG Case Reports Journal, Clinical Case Reports, JACC: Case Reports and others) have taken their place.

What is a typical APC for a case report?

Dedicated OA case-report journals charge roughly US$500–2,000 (JACC: Case Reports US$600, Journal of Medical Case Reports US$1,775, Case Reports in Gastroenterology US$1,450). Japanese society journals are often free or charge the equivalent of a few hundred US dollars; broad-scope OA journals such as Medicine and Frontiers in Medicine charge US$2,000–3,000.

Which reporting guideline applies to case reports?

The CARE guidelines (CAse REport guidelines). Journal of Medical Case Reports, Case Reports in Gastroenterology, European Heart Journal – Case Reports and Frontiers in Medicine, among others, require the checklist. Written patient consent is required by almost every journal.

See also the guide on choosing a target journal. Always check the official author guidelines before you submit. Last updated September 2026.