Journal IF NavigatorMedical journal Impact Factors by specialty — JCR 2025

Author guidelines compared

The key points of the author guidelines of major emergency, critical care and gastroenterology journals and of case-report journals: accepted article types, word limits, fees and submission system. Click a row for details. The journal name opens the journal's official site.

–
JournalIFCase reportsWords (original)AbstractFigures/tablesReferencesOAAPCSubmission systemFirst decision (days)
Journal of HepatologyGastroenterology40.1Limited6000275 S8 figures/tables100hybridUS$4,500Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original article / Review / Seminar / Hepatology Snapshot / What is your diagnosis? / Case report / Letter
Case reports: Discouraged; only if it makes a notable contribution to etiology, pathophysiology or treatment
Fees: US$4,500. 6,000-word limit includes abstract, references and tables
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / ARRIVE / CARE; CTAT table required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
GastroenterologyGastroenterology29.7Limited7000260 S7 figures+tables total–hybridUS$3,000Editorial Manager21
Article types: Original Articles / Brief Reports / Clinical Challenges and Images in GI / Practical Teaching Cases / Correspondence
Case reports: Single cases only as Clinical Challenges and Images / Practical Teaching Cases. Novel case series allowed
Fees: US$3,000 (Elsevier old page, unverified). 7,000-word limit includes abstract and references
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / ARRIVE
Acceptance rate: 11%
Open the Guide for Authors →
GutGastroenterology24.6Limited––––hybrid–ScholarOne23
Article types: Original research / Leading article / Commentary / Letter / GI snapshot / Recent advances
Case reports: No case report section; GI Snapshot (image cases) only
Fees: Amount shown dynamically on the page; not retrieved
Open the Guide for Authors →
Intensive Care MedicineCritical care22.0No3000250 SUp to 5 figures+tables total30hybridUS$5,390Editorial Manager4
Article types: Original Papers / Narrative/Scoping Reviews / Systematic Reviews / Guidelines / Images / Correspondence / Scientific Letters
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports and brief reports are not accepted
Fees: £3,590 / US$5,390 / €4,290
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR required (CONSORT/PRISMA/AGREE II)
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care MedicineCritical care21.7Limited3500250 SNo limit50hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original Research / Concise Clinical Review / Meta-Analysis / Images / Research Letter / Correspondence
Case reports: No case report section. Cases may be presented within a Research Letter (10 references, 2 figures/tables)
Fees: Publication fee US$2,800 even for non-OA (ATS members US$2,240). OA fee is separate
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
HepatologyGastroenterology18.0No6000250 SUp to 8 figures/tables (≤6 panels per figure)–hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original Manuscript / Editorial / Review / Special Article
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: 6,000-word limit includes references (title page, abstract, figure legends and tables excluded). Initial submission as a single Word file, free format. OA fee per Wolters Kluwer price list
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required (CONSORT/PRISMA/STROBE/STARD etc.)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Gastroenterology and HepatologyGastroenterology16.2Limited4000260 S6 figures/tables–hybridUS$3,000Editorial Manager14
Article types: Original Articles / Systematic Reviews / Image of the Month / Letters / Research Correspondence
Case reports: No case report section; Image of the Month only. Case series welcome
Fees: US$3,000 (unverified). 4,000-word limit includes references
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA / MOOSE
Open the Guide for Authors →
EndoscopyGastroenterology · Thieme (ESGE)11.8Limited3500250 S6 (figures+tables total)35hybridUS$3,620ScholarOne–
Article types: Original article / Systematic review / Innovations and brief communications (IBC) / Endoscopy New Horizons / Letter to the editor / Letter reply / E-Video
Case reports: No regular case report section. Short cases with video go to E-Videos (separate submission site: mc.manuscriptcentral.com/e-videos; Open Access only, fixed CC BY). Single-center case series may be submitted as Innovations and brief communications (IBC; 200-word abstract, 2,000-word main text, 5 pages, 20 references), explicitly treated on a par with original articles
Fees: OA applies to Original article, IBC and Systematic review. E-Videos is OA only (CC BY). Systematic review: 250-word abstract, 3,500 words, 6 figures/tables. New Horizons: no abstract, 1,000 words, 2 figures/tables, 10 references, up to 6 authors. Letter: 300 words, 5 references, no abstract. Original article abstract has 4 headings: Background and study aims / Patients and methods / Results / Conclusions. Equal contribution limited to 2 authors; only 1 corresponding author
Reporting guidelines: PRISMA 2020 required (SR/MA; checklist appended at end of main text). Clinical trials must be prospectively registered before enrollment of the first case, with the trial number at the end of the abstract
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical CareCritical care11.4No–350 S––OAUS$4,390Springer Nature (SNAPP)5
Article types: Research / Review / Comment / Debate / Correspondence / Brief Report / Perspective / Guidelines
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: £3,090 / US$4,390 / €3,590
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
ChestCritical care9.8Limited3200300 S–50hybridUS$4,160Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Research / Research Letter / Guidelines / Narrative Review / Systematic Review / Novel Reports / Chest Imaging & Pathology for Clinicians / Correspondence
Case reports: As Novel Reports (online only): 750 words, 150-word abstract, 10 references, 2 figures/tables. Series of 4 or more cases handled as original research
Fees: US$4,160 (all article types)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA required; STROBE etc. recommended
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology8.5No3000250 S––hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Research Article / Review (Narrative / Systematic) / Brief Report / Editorial / ACG Clinical Guidelines / Image of the Month / Video of the Month / Correspondence / The Red Section
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not accepted (not even as Correspondence). Image (200 words, 3 images) / Video (300 words) only. Case reports go to ACG Case Reports Journal
Fees: Initial submission free format. Color figure printing US$376 per figure. OA fee per Wolters Kluwer price list
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STARD / STROBE / SQUIRE / PRISMA checklist required
Open the Guide for Authors →
Gastrointestinal EndoscopyGastroenterology8.0Limited3500250 S–50––Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Articles / Review / New Methods / VideoGIE / At the Focal Point / Letters
Case reports: No case report section; At the Focal Point (images) / VideoGIE only
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA
Open the Guide for Authors →
Hepatology InternationalGastroenterology7.8No4000250 SUp to 6 figures/tables30hybridUS$5,290Editorial Manager7
Article types: Original Article / Review / Mini Review / Consensus / Letter / Commentary
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: £3,290 / US$5,290 / €4,090. 4,000-word limit includes references
Open the Guide for Authors →
World Journal of Emergency SurgeryEmergency7.7No–350 S––OAUS$4,190Springer Nature (SNAPP)–
Article types: Research / Review / Methodology / Study Protocol / Comment
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: £3,090 / US$4,190 / €3,390 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
World Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology7.7Yes––––OAUS$3,668F6Publishing–
Article types: Review / Minireview / Retrospective Study / Observational Study / Randomized Controlled Trial / Basic Study / Systematic Review / Meta-Analysis / Case Report / Letter
Case reports: Case Report is an article type. CARE recommended
Fees: Standard US$3,668; Young Scholar US$3,353
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / CARE (recommended)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical Care MedicineCritical care7.5No3000300 SUp to 6 figures+tables total50hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Clinical Investigation / Laboratory Investigation / Systematic Review/Meta-Analysis / Research Report / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: No longer accepted. Unusual cases go to Critical Care Explorations
Fees: Wolters Kluwer price list
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / TRIPOD checklist required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Intensive CareCritical care7.5No–350 S––OAUS$2,665Springer Nature (SNAPP)3
Article types: Research / Review / Comment / Correspondence / Matters Arising
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: £2,020 / US$2,665 / €2,235. Covered by the society for Japanese Society of Intensive Care Medicine members
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT; trial registration required
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Alimentary Pharmacology & TherapeuticsGastroenterology6.8No–250 S––hybrid–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Original Articles / Systematic Reviews / Meta-analyses / Clinical Trials / Letters
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not accepted
Fees: Main text approx. 12-20 double-spaced pages
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / CARE
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Annals of Emergency MedicineEmergency · Elsevier (ACEP)6.5Limited3250250 S7 (figures+tables total)–––Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Research / Brief Research Report / Research Letter / Clinical Review / Systematic Review / Meta-Analysis / Scoping Review / Systematic Review Snapshot / Concepts / Expert Clinical Management / Clinical Controversies / Case Report / Images in Emergency Medicine / ECG of the Month / Editorial / Brief Commentary / Residents' Perspective / Change of Shift / Correspondence
Case reports: Formal submission category exists but explicitly states "very few are published, only those of exceptional clinical importance". Limited to unreported diseases, unreported presentations or treatments of known diseases, or treatment complications. Anything previously reported in the emergency medicine literature is not accepted. Up to 15 references and 2 figures; no detailed literature review. Image cases go to Images in Emergency Medicine (250 words total; ECGs not eligible)
Fees: Brief Research Report: 1,750 words, 15 references, 4 figures/tables. Research Letter: 700 words, no abstract, 6 authors, 6 references, 2 figures/tables. Clinical Review 4,000 words; Concepts 3,500 words; Correspondence 500 words, 5 references
Reporting guidelines: Various EQUATOR guidelines. Compliance with the sex and gender equity and race/ethnicity reporting policies is required
Open the Guide for Authors →
United European Gastroenterology JournalGastroenterology6.4No3000250 SUp to 7 figures/tables50OA–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Original Research / Review / Editorial / Letter to the Editor / Guidelines / Clinical Image / News Article
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not allowed. Case series at editor's discretion. Clinical Image (150 words, 4 references, 4 authors, consent form required) only
Fees: Fully OA since 2021. APC on a separate page. Free Format submission allowed; Visual Abstract required at revision
Reporting guidelines: ICMJE; AGREE II (guidelines)
Open the Guide for Authors →
Liver InternationalGastroenterology6.2No5000250 SUp to 8 figures/tables50hybrid–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Original Article / Systematic Review / Meta-Analysis / Brief Definitive Report / Review / Mini-Review / Research Letter / Letter to the Editor / Liver International Images
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports submitted as Letters are automatically rejected. Images (250 words, 5 references, 4 authors) only
Fees: 5,000-word limit includes title page, abstract and lay summary; references and figures/tables excluded. Free Format submission allowed
Reporting guidelines: PRISMA required (SR/MA)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
ResuscitationEmergency · Elsevier6.0No30002506(Original。Short 4/Review 10)80––––
Article types: Original paper / Short paper / Review / Commentary and Concepts / Editorial / Correspondence / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not published. Papers unrelated to cardiac arrest are also out of scope
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology5.7No6000250 S7 figures+tables total–hybridUS$5,490Editorial Manager4
Article types: Review / Original Article / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: No case report article type (case reports go to Clinical Journal of Gastroenterology)
Fees: £3,690 / US$5,490 / €4,390. 6,000-word limit includes references
Reporting guidelines: Trial registration required
Open the Guide for Authors →
Annals of Intensive CareCritical care5.5No4000350 S5 (figures+tables total)40OAUS$3,090––
Article types: Research / Review / Editorial / Letter to the Editor / Correspondence
Case reports: No case report submission category
Fees: Per DOAJ: up to €2,890 / US$3,090
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Anaesthesia Critical Care & Pain MedicineCritical care5.4No3000250 S–30hybridUS$3,000Editorial Manager–
Article types: Editorials / Original articles / Reviews / Letters / Technical notes / Short communications
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not accepted (based on the 2015 version of the guidelines)
Fees: Values from the 2015 version of the guidelines; unverified
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA / STROBE
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency5.4No3000350 SUp to 6 figures+tables total30hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original article / Review / Editorial / Perspective / Research letter / Correspondence
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not accepted
Fees: Per Wolters Kluwer price list. Waived under Read & Publish agreements. 3,000-word limit includes abstract
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required
Open the Guide for Authors →
Neurocritical CareCritical care4.2No–300 S––hybridUS$4,890Editorial Manager8
Article types: Original Work / Meta-analyses / Review / Brief Communication / Viewpoint / Neuro-Images / Trial Protocols / Letter
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not published
Fees: £3,090 / US$4,890 / €3,890
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required
Open the Guide for Authors →
Internal and Emergency MedicineEmergency4.1Limited–2504-6 figures/tables50hybridUS$4,990Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Article / Systematic Review / Review / Case Record / Clinical Note / Medical Illustration / Letter
Case reports: As Case Record / Clinical Note: up to 7,500 characters, up to 5 authors, 1 figure + 1 table, up to 5 references
Fees: Open Choice £3,090 / US$4,990 / €3,890 + VAT. Original articles up to 25,000 characters (characters, not words)
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR(CONSORT/STROBE/PRISMA/STARD/CARE)
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Medicine (RCP)General · Elsevier (Royal College of Physicians)3.9Yes3000250 S4 (figures+tables total)30OAUS$2,400Editorial Manager–
Article types: Full Length Article (Original research) / Review (narrative / systematic) / Concise guidance / CME (invited) / Quality improvement / Opinion / Acute medical care (case-based discussion) / Lessons of the month / Images of the month / Foundation column / Lectures (invited) / Conference report (invited) / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Three case report sections: Acute medical care (150-word abstract, 1,000-word main text, 1 figure/table, 5 references; acute cases from ED to ward in case-based discussion format; complexity required, e.g. diagnostic uncertainty, multimorbidity, ethical dilemmas; 4-6 learning points) / Lessons of the month (150 words, 1,000 words, 4 figures/tables, 10 references) / Images of the month (no abstract, 500 words, 4 figures/tables, 5 references). All require clear educational value. CARE guideline compliance plus completed CARE checklist attached; statement of written consent in the main text required
Fees: Fully gold OA since January 2024. RCP members and fellows get a 100% waiver after acceptance (membership number must be provided). 3,000-word limit for original articles excludes tables, figure legends and references. Structured abstract: Study Objective / Design / Setting / Participants / Interventions / Main Outcome Measure(s) / Results / Conclusions. Highlights (3-5 items, 85 characters each) required; Graphical Abstract required for original articles and reviews. Review: 150-word abstract, 3,000 words, 4 figures/tables, 50 references
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR required (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, CARE, COREQ, SQUIRE 2.0, CHEERS, SAMPL). RCTs must state the trial registration number in Methods
Peer review: double-blind; preprints not allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Trauma and Acute Care SurgeryEmergency3.9No4000300 S6 figures/tables50hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Research / Review / Scoping Review / Systematic Review / Brief Report / Consensus Statement / Procedures and Techniques / Letter
Case reports: Single cases not allowed. Highly novel case series reviewed as original articles
Fees: Wolters Kluwer price list. Color printing from US$750
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA / PRISMA-ScR / STROBE
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
PancreatologyGastroenterology3.9Yes5000250 S7 figures/tables–hybridUS$3,000Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original articles / Rapid communications / Review / Letters / Case reports
Case reports: Accepted in Rapid communication format
Fees: US$3,000
Open the Guide for Authors →
Australian Critical CareCritical care3.6Yes3500300 SUp to 5 figures+tables total–hybridUS$1,700Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original research / Brief research reports / Reviews / Case studies / Discussion papers / Study protocols / Letters
Case reports: Up to 2,500 words; signed consent required
Fees: US$1,700 (ACCCN members US$1,360)
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Digestive EndoscopyGastroenterology3.6Limited3000250 SNo limitNo limithybrid–Wiley Authors–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Techniques and Innovation / Letter to the Editor / Video Article
Case reports: No case report section. Cases with particularly striking endoscopic findings may be published as a Letter (300 words, 3 authors, 5 references, 2 figures) at the editor's discretion
Fees: 3,000-word limit includes abstract, excludes references. Video Article US$300. OA fee on a separate page. Transfer to sister journal DEN Open offered on rejection
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Frontiers in MedicineGeneral · Frontiers3.6Yes––Up to 4 figures/tables–OAUS$3,100Frontiers–
Case reports: Only cases that substantially advance the field. Title must be 'Case Report: ...'; CARE checklist attached
Fees: B-type CHF 2,500 (approx. US$3,100)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Scandinavian Journal of Trauma, Resuscitation and Emergency MedicineEmergency3.6Yes–350 S––OAUS$2,690Springer Nature (SNAPP)–
Article types: Research / Review / Case Report / Comment / Study Protocol / Guideline
Case reports: Novelty criteria apply (rare adverse effects, atypical presentations, etc.). CARE recommended; consent required
Fees: £1,990 / US$2,690 / €2,290 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Critical CareCritical care · Elsevier3.5No–250––––––
Article types: Original Research / Review / Meta-analysis / Narrative Review / Research Letter / Clinical Challenges / Medical Ethics in Intensive Care Medicine / Education in Intensive Care Medicine / Editorial
Case reports: No case report submission category. Research Letter: up to 600 words, 5 references, 1 figure/table
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Gastroenterology and HepatologyGastroenterology3.5Limited3000250 S3-7 figures/tables50hybrid–Wiley Authors–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Meta-Analysis / Systematic Review / Education and Imaging / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not allowed. Education and Imaging (image cases, 1-2 pages, 1-3 references) only
Fees: OA fee on a separate page. Free Format submission allowed
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCT); trial registration recommended
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
DigestionGastroenterology3.4No5000–4-8 figures/tables–hybridUS$4,360Karger–
Article types: Research Article / Review / Systematic Review / Brief Report / Methods / Guidelines
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: US$4,360
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
HPBGastroenterology · Elsevier3.3No5000200 S5 (figures+tables total; 4 for Reviews)50––––
Article types: Original Article / Prospective Clinical Trial / Review / Systematic Review, Meta-analysis / Leading Article / Research Letter / Invited Commentary / Correspondence
Case reports: Case Studies no longer published
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Intensive MedicineCritical care3.3No5000350 S––OAUS$2,000––
Article types: Original Article / Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis / Review / Editorial / Perspective / Commentary / Letter / Correspondence / Artificial Intelligence and Big Data
Case reports: No case report submission category
Fees: Per DOAJ: up to US$2,000
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required as supplementary material
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Surgical EndoscopyGastroenterology · Springer (SAGES / EAES)3.3No–300 S––hybridUS$4,690Editorial Manager12
Article types: Randomized controlled trial / Observational study (cohort, case-control, case series) / Cross-sectional study / Technology paper / Innovation / Systematic review / Meta-analysis / Clinical practice guideline / Dynamic manuscript (original article with video) / Commentary (invited only)
Case reports: Explicitly states "case reports are not accepted". Case series require at least 10 cases. Letters to the editor also not accepted. Commentary by invitation only in principle (up to 10 pages)
Fees: Structured 300-word abstract (Background / Methods / Results / Conclusions); up to 6 keywords. No stated limits on main-text length, number of figures/tables or references. Color figures free online. No adding, removing or reordering authors after acceptance
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA 2020 etc. SRs must be prospectively registered in a registry; meta-analyses must include GRADE certainty assessment
Open the Guide for Authors →
Academic Emergency MedicineEmergency3.2No5000300 SUp to 5 tables and 5 figures–hybrid–Wiley Research Exchange2
Article types: Original Article / Systematic Review / Research Letter / Commentary / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not considered for peer review
Fees: No submission or publication fees. OA option fee not stated on the page
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA required; STROBE etc. recommended
Acceptance rate: 16%
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMC GastroenterologyGastroenterology3.2Yes––––OAUS$3,390Springer Nature (SNAPP)11
Article types: Research article / Study protocol / Review / Systematic Review / Case Report / Comment
Case reports: Case Report is an article type
Fees: £2,590 / US$3,390 / €2,890
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical Care and ResuscitationCritical care · Elsevier3.2Yes2700250 S––––Elsevier42
Article types: Original Article / Survey / Structured Review / Meta-analysis / Review / Case Report / Point of View / Editorial / Pro-con Debate / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Unstructured abstract up to 100 words summarizing the case and why it is noteworthy
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMC Emergency MedicineEmergency3.1No–350 S––OAUS$2,990Springer Nature (SNAPP)–
Article types: Research article / Systematic Review / Review / Study protocol / Matters Arising / Comment
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: £2,390 / US$2,990 / €2,590 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency · Elsevier2.9Yes3000250 S––––––
Article types: Original Contribution / Brief Report / Review / Case Report / Correspondence / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: ED cases only. Unstructured abstract up to 250 words; up to 5 authors. Ultrasound case reports generally not allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Critical Care ExplorationsCritical care2.9Yes3500300 SUp to 6 figures/tables–OAUS$2,150Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Clinical Report / Observational/Cohort Study / Narrative Review / Systematic Review / Case Report / Research Report / Quality Improvement Report / Study Protocol / Letter
Case reports: 800-1,500 words, 150-word abstract, up to 3 figures/tables, CARE checklist, consent required. APC US$1,050
Fees: Original articles US$2,150; case reports etc. US$950-1,050 (2026)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / TRIPOD / CARE
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Intensive Care Medicine ExperimentalCritical care2.9No–350 S––OAUS$2,990Editorial Manager8
Article types: Research Articles / Hypothesis Articles / Methodologies / Reviews
Case reports: Case reports and surveys not allowed
Fees: £2,190 / US$2,990 / €2,490
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Digestive Diseases and SciencesGastroenterology2.8No–250 S––hybridUS$4,590Springer Nature7
Article types: Original Article / Review / Correspondence / Image of the Month
Case reports: Case reports no longer accepted
Fees: £2,990 / US$4,590 / €3,890
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA / ARRIVE
Open the Guide for Authors →
Emergency Medicine JournalEmergency2.8Limited3000300 SUp to 6 figures+tables total30hybridUS$5,700ScholarOne79
Article types: Original research / Short report / Practice review / Systematic review / Image challenge / Educational case series / Quality improvement report
Case reports: No standalone case report section; Image challenge / Educational case series only
Fees: £4,500 (approx. US$5,700). May be waived under institutional agreements
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR(CONSORT/PRISMA/STROBE/SQUIRE)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Clinical GastroenterologyGastroenterology2.7Limited–250 S––hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Research Report / Case Report / Letter / Meeting Report
Case reports: Only case reports describing "an entirely new observation or drug interaction" accepted (because of limited space)
Fees: OA fee per Wolters Kluwer price list. Color figures charged (quote on request). Blinded title page required
Peer review: double-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
ShockCritical care2.7No–250–No limit (usually 50-60)hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Research articles / Review articles / Commentaries / Brief Reports / Letters
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: Submission fee US$100 (waived for members) + page charge US$55 per page
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic SciencesGastroenterology2.5Limited4000200 SUp to 7 figures/tables30hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Systematic Review / Guidelines / Rapid Communication / How I Do It / Case Image/Case Video / Letter
Case reports: Case Image / Case Video only (online only, 300 words, 3 authors, 5 references)
Fees: Based on the 2022 society regulations. 4,000-word limit includes abstract, excludes references
Reporting guidelines: Trial registration (ICMJE)
Open the Guide for Authors →
Trauma Surgery & Acute Care OpenEmergency2.5Limited4000– SUp to 6 figures/tables50OAUS$3,270ScholarOne42
Article types: Original Research / Systematic Review / Review / Guidelines / Brief Report / Challenges in Trauma and Acute Care Surgery
Case reports: Single cases not allowed as Brief Report; Challenges format only (800 words, 3 figures, no references)
Fees: Challenges US$990. AAST and other society members US$2,230
Reporting guidelines: PRISMA required, EQUATOR recommended
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Acceptance rate: 63%
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMC SurgerySurgery · BMC2.4Yes––––OAUS$3,190Springer Nature (SNAPP)16
Case reports: Case report / Case series listed as article types. IF 2.4
Fees: £2,390 / US$3,190 / €2,690
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Diseases of the EsophagusGastroenterology2.4Limited4500250 S10 figures+tables total40hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original articles / Systematic reviews / New technology / Practice guidelines / Expert reviews / Letters / Lessons learned
Case reports: Generally not accepted; exceptional cases only
Fees: Listed on a separate OUP page
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / STROBE / PRISMA / SQUIRE / STARD
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
InjuryEmergency · Elsevier2.4No–350––––––
Article types: Full Length Article / Review Article / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case reports redirected to the sister journal Trauma Case Reports from the same editorial office (OA; publication fee on acceptance)
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Journal of Trauma and Emergency SurgeryEmergency2.3No–250 S––hybridUS$3,690Springer Nature (SNAPP)–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Correspondence
Case reports: Explicitly states that case reports are not accepted
Fees: Open Choice £2,590 / US$3,690 / €2,990 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT/STROBE/PRISMA/STARD/CARE etc.
Open the Guide for Authors →
JACEP OpenEmergency2.3Yes3000250 SUp to 7 figures/tablesNo limitOA–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Original Research / Brief Report / Review / Systematic Review / Clinical Concepts / Case Report / Images in EM / Videos in EM / Letter
Case reports: Up to 1,500 words, 250-word abstract, up to 2 figures/tables. Limited to unreported or unusual cases (old Wiley rules; now transferred to Elsevier)
Fees: APC applies (amount on a separate page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT required; STROBE/STARD/PRISMA recommended
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Intensive Care MedicineCritical care2.3No7200300 S––hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original Research / Analytic Reviews / Reports of Large Clinical Series / Techniques and Procedures / Correspondence
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: No submission or publication fee. Sage Choice fee is separate
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR checklist required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Respiratory CareCritical care2.3No5000300 SUp to 8 figures/tables50hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original Research / Narrative Review / Systematic Review / Short Report / Correspondence
Case reports: Case reports not accepted; redirected to the sister OA journal Respiratory Care Reports (APC US$1,440)
Fees: No submission or publication fee. Sage Choice fee is separate
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR(CONSORT/PRISMA)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Journal of Gastroenterology & HepatologyGastroenterology2.1Yes5000250 S––hybrid–Editorial Manager–
Article types: Review / Original Paper / Short Article / Case Report / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report is a formal article type. Up to 3,500 words, unstructured abstract. Consent statement required
Fees: OA fee per the Wolters Kluwer price list. Short article 2,500 words, Letter 1,500 words
Reporting guidelines: ICMJE; trial registration required
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Medicine (Baltimore)General · Wolters Kluwer2.0Yes––––OAUS$2,250Editorial Manager30
Article types: Original Study / Narrative Review / Case Report / Study Protocol / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report is a formal article type. Consent statement following CARE guidelines required. Novelty and impact are not assessed (scientific and ethical soundness only)
Fees: Original articles and case reports US$2,250, Narrative Review US$1,750. Waivers for low- and middle-income countries
Reporting guidelines: CARE (case reports), various EQUATOR guidelines
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Prehospital Emergency CareEmergency2.0Yes5000350 S––hybrid–Taylor & Francis Submission Portal–
Article types: Original Research / Preliminary Report / Case Conference / Position Paper / Systematic Review / Letter
Case reports: As Case Conference. Unstructured abstract 350 words, consent required
Fees: Open Select fee: see the T&F APC finder
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Western Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency2.0Limited4000350 S7 figures/tables–OAUS$1,250eScholarship–
Article types: Original Research / Brief Research Report / Educational Advances / Systematic Review / Scoping Review / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case reports redirected to the sister journal Clinical Practice and Cases in Emergency Medicine (CPC-EM)
Fees: Up to 2 articles per year free with an institutional subscription
Reporting guidelines: STROBE/CONSORT/PRISMA etc. checklists required
Open the Guide for Authors →
International Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency1.9Yes3000350 S––OAUS$3,190Springer Nature (SNAPP)–
Article types: Research / Brief Report / Review / Case Report / Image / Educational Advances / Practice Innovations
Case reports: Up to 1,500 words, 350-word abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions), consent required
Fees: £2,390 / US$3,190 / €2,690 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of the Intensive Care SocietyCritical care1.9No4000250 S–50hybrid–ScholarOne–
Article types: Original articles / Narrative reviews / Study protocols / Guidelines / Case-based discussion / Brief communications / Correspondence
Case reports: Explicitly states case reports are not accepted; Case-based discussion section available
Fees: No submission or publication fee. Sage Choice fee is separate
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR(CONSORT/PRISMA)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Scandinavian Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology1.8No–250 S––hybrid–Taylor & Francis Submission Portal–
Article types: Research Article / Review / Brief Report / Article Commentary / Editorial
Case reports: No case report article type
Fees: Typical article up to 5 pages (including abstract, tables and references). Format-free submission allowed. Open Select fee: see the T&F APC finder
Reporting guidelines: ICMJE
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
CJEMEmergency1.7Limited2500300 S5 figures/tables40hybridUS$3,890Editorial Manager14
Article types: Original Research / Brief Original Research / Quality Improvement / Commentary / Clinical Correspondence / Letter
Case reports: As Clinical Correspondence: up to 1,000 words, 1 figure/table, 5 references, take-home message required
Fees: Open Choice £2,590 / US$3,890 / €2,990 + VAT
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR required
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Emergency MedicineEmergency · Elsevier1.6Yes–250 S––––––
Article types: Original Contribution / Clinical Communication / Selected Topics / Techniques and Procedures / Case Presentation / Visual Diagnosis in Emergency Medicine / Ultrasound in Emergency Medicine / Editorial / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case Presentations category available. Main text in 4 parts: Introduction / Case Report / Discussion / Why should an emergency physician be aware of this?; abstract uses the same headings
Open the Guide for Authors →
Neurologia Medico-ChirurgicaNeurosurgery · Japan Neurosurgical Society1.6Limited–2504 figures+tables total–OAFreeScholarOne–
Case reports: Case reports generally go to NMC Case Report Journal; this journal only when judged particularly important
Fees: Free within limits. Excess pages ¥10,000/page
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Emergency Medicine AustralasiaEmergency1.5Limited2500250 S5 figures/tables30hybrid–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Short Report / Opinion / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: No case report section. Clinical observations may be submitted as Letter (600 words, 5 references, 1 figure/table)
Fees: OA fee on a separate page
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR recommended
Peer review: open; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Acute Medicine & SurgeryEmergency1.3Yes3000250 SUp to 8 figures+tables totalUsually <30OAUS$1,125Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Original Article / Brief Communication / Case Report / Review / Mini Review / Case Image / Letter
Case reports: Only cases of particularly high novelty. Up to 1,500 words (including abstract and references), structured abstract 150 words, up to 3 figures/tables, under 10 references. May be reassigned to Letter
Fees: Case report US$1,125, original article US$675 (society covers 70%), Case Image US$500. 3,000-word limit includes abstract and references
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT(RCT)
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Diabetology InternationalEndocrinology · Springer (Japan Diabetes Society)1.1Yes–250Up to 2 figures/tables–hybrid–Editorial Manager18
Case reports: Up to 5 printed pages (approx. 3,600 words, including references), up to 2 figures/tables, literature review required. Indexed in PMC. IF 1.1
Fees: Free under the subscription model. Open Choice fee not stated
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Internal Medicine (Tokyo)General1.0Yes3500250 SNo limit–OAUS$300Journal's own system–
Article types: Original Article / Case Report / Review / Letter / Pictures in Clinical Medicine
Case reports: Case reports welcomed. 100-word abstract; no stated limit on main text or figures/tables
Fees: No APC. Non-members pay a US$300 submission fee (waived for members)
Reporting guidelines: Declaration of Helsinki, IRB approval
Open the Guide for Authors →
IDCasesInfectious diseases · Elsevier0.9Yes–250Up to 5 figuresUp to 20––Editorial Manager–
Article types: Case Report / Case Illustrated / Curated Case Reports (invited)
Case reports: Specialist journal for single cases and case series in infectious diseases. Reports from veterinary and zoonotic perspectives also accepted. Structure: Cover Page / Abstract / Introduction / Case / Discussion / Acknowledgements / COI / References. Image-based Case Illustrated section: main text up to 400 words, under 5 references (identifiable clinical images require patient permission). Mayo Clinic and HIV editions of Curated Case Reports are invited
Fees: Fully OA (APC amount not stated in the guidelines; see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCTs). CARE not explicitly stated
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
American Journal of Case ReportsGeneral · International Scientific Information (ISI)0.8Yes–––––US$1,100Authors' Service (journal website)45
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Follows the ICMJE uniform requirements. Strict formatting (Times New Roman 12pt, 1-inch margins, 1.5 line spacing, left-aligned; indents, page breaks, line numbers and numbered headings not allowed). Non-compliant manuscripts are returned without peer review. Title page, main text, tables and figures as separate files. SI units; abbreviations not allowed in title or abstract. Reviewer suggestions allowed (final selection by the editorial office). Plagiarism screening at all submission stages (including self-plagiarism; if detected, rejected with no refund of fees paid)
Fees: Charged only on acceptance (submission and peer review free). US$1,100. No waivers or discounts by country, affiliation or financial status. Approx. 14 weeks from acceptance to publication
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Journal of GastroenterologyGastroenterology0.8Yes60002007 figures+tables total–hybridUS$4,290Editorial Manager3
Article types: Case Reports / Clinical Reviews / Letters to the Editor
Case reports: Primarily a case report journal. Original cases with educational value welcomed. 200-word abstract, up to 10 authors, up to 9 cases
Fees: Free under the subscription model. Open Choice £2,790 / US$4,290
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Medical Case ReportsGeneral · BMC0.8Yes–350––OAUS$1,775Springer Nature (SNAPP)97
Case reports: Structured abstract (Background / Case presentation / Conclusions). Patient's ethnic background must be stated in the abstract and case presentation. IF 0.8
Fees: Case report £1,160 / US$1,775 / €1,525
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Respiratory Medicine Case ReportsRespiratory · Elsevier0.8Yes–250Not specifiedNot specified–US$1,540Editorial Manager–
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Sister OA journal of Respiratory Medicine. Covers clinical case reports in respiratory medicine and case reports based on thoracic ultrasound. Must be of educational and clinical interest to an international readership. No limits on word count, figures/tables or references stated in the guidelines. Submission of Highlights (3-5 items, up to 85 characters each) recommended
Fees: Fully OA (APC amount not stated in the guidelines; see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCTs), ARRIVE (animal studies). CARE not explicitly stated
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Case Reports in GastroenterologyGastroenterology0.7Yes2500–Up to 3 figures/tables–OAUS$1,450Manuscript Manager–
Article types: Single Case / Case Series / Case and Review
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. CARE checklist required, literature review demonstrating novelty required, up to 6 authors. Median 22 weeks to final decision
Fees: US$1,450
Reporting guidelines: CARE
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
European Heart Journal - Case ReportsCardiology · Oxford University Press (ESC)0.7Yes–250Up to 5 figures/tables15OAUS$3,625ScholarOne–
Case reports: Up to 1,200 words, structured abstract, up to 5 authors, 2-3 learning points. IF 0.7
Fees: US$3,625. ESC members 30-40% discount. Covered by Read & Publish
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Surgical Case ReportsGastroenterology0.7Yes–350 S––OAUS$630Editorial Manager4
Article types: Case Report / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Transferred from SpringerOpen to the Japan Surgical Society (J-STAGE) in 2025
Fees: Non-members ¥95,000, Japan Surgical Society members ¥30,000 (excluding tax)
Peer review: single-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Clinical Case ReportsGeneral · Wiley0.6Yes––––OAUS$1,910Wiley Authors–
Article types: Case Report / Case Image / Case Video / Case Series (up to 3 cases) / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Case report specialist journal. Emphasizes the educational message over novelty; common conditions allowed. 1,000-3,000 words, 50-word Key Clinical Message required (abstract optional). Case series up to 3 cases. Consent form required
Fees: APC applies (see the Wiley OA page; US$1,910 per third-party sites). Waivers for low-income countries only
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
International Journal of Surgery Case ReportsSurgery · Wolters Kluwer (Lippincott)0.6Yes4000300 SUp to 3 figures/tables (case reports)Not specified (case reports)–US$1,500Editorial Manager (ijscasereports)–
Article types: Case Report / Case Series / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: Sister OA journal of International Journal of Surgery. Covers all surgical fields. Case Report: main text up to 1,500 words (excluding references), up to 3 figures/tables; structure: structured abstract / Introduction / Presentation of Case / Discussion / Conclusion / Acknowledgements / References. Case Series up to 4,000 words (excluding references). Letter: 750 words, 1 figure/table, 3 authors, up to 10 references. Main text 1.5 line spacing, 10-12pt. Title page as a separate file from the main text (no author information in the main text for double-blind review). References in AMA (JAMA) style with superscript numbers. No trial registration required for case reports and case series
Fees: Case Report US$1,500 / Case Series US$2,090 (until 31 December 2026). Charged on acceptance, payable by credit card within 30 days. Full waiver for Research4Life Group A countries, 50% waiver for Group B (applied automatically by the corresponding author's country). CC license chosen from 6 options after acceptance
Reporting guidelines: Required: SCARE for surgical case reports, CARE for medical case reports, PROCESS or STROBE for case series. Submit the completed checklist as supplementary material and state compliance in the main text
Peer review: double-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Oxford Medical Case ReportsGeneral · Oxford University Press0.6Yes–150Up to 10 images10OAUS$3,625ScholarOne–
Case reports: Up to 1,000 words (excluding abstract), 3-6 keywords. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.6. Consent statement required
Fees: OUP fee page lists US$3,625 (20% discount for society members). Third-party sites list US$1,180 (unverified)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Surgical Case ReportsSurgery · Oxford University Press0.5Yes–150Up to 10 images15OAUS$3,625ScholarOne–
Case reports: Case report: 1,000 words, 15 references, 10 images. Case series: 2,000 words, 25 references. Indexed in PMC. IF 0.5
Fees: OUP fee page lists US$3,625 (20% discount for society members). Third-party sites list US$945 (unverified)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
ACG Case Reports JournalGastroenterology–Yes–100Up to 6 image panels20OAUS$500Editorial Manager–
Article types: Case Report / Image / Video
Case reports: Case report specialist journal in gastroenterology and hepatology (ACG, fellow-edited). First author must be a resident, fellow, student, non-physician provider or practicing physician. Under 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, up to 20 references, up to 6 image panels. Consent required
Fees: Non-members US$500. Free if the corresponding author is an ACG member
Peer review: single-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Acute and Critical CareCritical care–Limited–250 S––OAFreeJournal's own system–
Article types: Original Article / Review Article / Letter to the Editor / Images in Critical Care / Guidelines / Brief Reports
Case reports: Short cases only as Letter to the Editor (1,000 words, 5 references)
Fees: No author charges (covered by the Korean Society of Critical Care Medicine)
Reporting guidelines: EQUATOR recommended
Peer review: double-blind
Open the Guide for Authors →
Annals of Gastroenterological SurgeryGastroenterology–No5000250 SUp to 8 figures/tablesUsually <30OAUS$2,035Wiley Authors–
Article types: Original Article / Review / Systematic Review / Mini Review / How I do it / Guidelines / Editorial / Letter to the Editor
Case reports: No case report article type (Letter: 500 words, 5 references, 1 figure/table)
Fees: 5,000-word limit includes abstract and references. Up to 10 authors. APC: see the Wiley OA page (DOAJ lists up to US$2,035)
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT (RCTs), trial registration
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
Open the Guide for Authors →
BMJ Case ReportsGeneral · BMJ–Yes––––hybridUS$450ScholarOne47
Case reports: Submission requires a BMJ Case Reports Fellowship (individual £345/year, unlimited submissions for 12 months). Free with an institutional agreement. Global health report 4,000 words, Images 500 words
Fees: Fellowship £345/year (approx. US$450) includes publication fee. OA option £499
Acceptance rate: 39%
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Case Reports in Emergency MedicineEmergency · Wiley (formerly Hindawi)–No––––OA–––
Case reports: Ceased publication at the end of 2024. Not accepting submissions
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
CureusGeneral · Springer Nature–Yes––At least 1 figure required; no upper limit20OAFreeJournal's own system–
Case reports: Free if up to 5 authors, up to 20 references and few formatting/English deficiencies. At least 1 figure required. Removed from Web of Science in 2025; no IF. Indexed in PMC
Fees: Free if conditions are met. Otherwise paid editing (average US$400, up to US$1,400)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Case ReportsEndocrinology · Bioscientifica–Yes––––OA–ScholarOne30
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: Case report specialist journal in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism (Society for Endocrinology). Dedicated template required, consent form required, patient's perspective welcomed. Peer review decision usually within 1 month
Fees: APC invoiced on publication (fee on a separate page). Society member discount available
Peer review: single-blind
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
JACC: Case ReportsCardiology · Elsevier (ACC)–Yes–50No limit10OAUS$600Journal's own system–
Case reports: 1,500 words (including references and figure legends), 50-word abstract, learning objectives required, up to 10 authors
Fees: US$600. 25% discount for ACC members and trainees
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
JMA JournalGeneral · Japan Medical Association / Japanese Association of Medical Sciences–Limited–3003 tables, 4 figures10OAFreeScholarOne–
Case reports: Generally publishes only world-first or extremely rare cases. 750 words, 3 tables and 4 figures, 10 references
Fees: No submission or publication fee
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Cardiology CasesCardiology · Elsevier (Japanese College of Cardiology)–Yes–2003 figures+tables total10hybridFreeEditorial Manager–
Case reports: Under 1,500 words, 80-word learning objective
Fees: Standard publication free. OA option available (amount not stated)
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of General and Family MedicineGeneral · Wiley (Japan Primary Care Association)–Yes3500250 SUp to 5 figures/tables40OA–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Review / Original Article / Preliminary Communication / Case Report / Clinical Image / Clinical Problem Solving / Research Letter
Case reports: Case report: 1,000 words, unstructured abstract 100 words, 2 figures/tables, 10 references. Clinical or educational significance required. Consent statement required
Fees: APC: see the Wiley OA page. Discount for Japan Primary Care Association members (1 year or more). No submission fee
Reporting guidelines: CONSORT / PRISMA
Peer review: single-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Nippon Medical SchoolGeneral · Medical Association of Nippon Medical School–Yes–250––OAUS$67ScholarOne–
Case reports: 3,000 words (including title page, abstract, references and tables)
Fees: Processing fee ¥10,000 plus page charge ¥10,000/page
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Orthopaedic Case ReportsOrthopedics · Indian Orthopaedic Research Group–Yes–350Up to 10 figures/tables10〜30OAUS$450Journal's own system–
Case reports: 2,000 words, 350-word abstract, 10-30 references. Ethics committee approval number and consent statement required
Fees: Case report US$450
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Journal of Rural MedicineGeneral · Japanese Association of Rural Medicine–Yes–200––OAUS$200ScholarOne–
Case reports: 200-word abstract
Fees: ¥30,000/article. Waived for society members
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
NMC Case Report JournalNeurosurgery · Japan Neurosurgical Society–Yes–250Within 5 pages–OAFreeScholarOne–
Case reports: 4,000 words / up to 5 pages. Upload IRB approval letter at submission
Fees: No APC
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Radiology Case ReportsRadiology · Elsevier (University of Washington)–Yes––Not specifiedNot specified–US$660Editorial Manager (RCR)–
Article types: Case Report
Case reports: No JCR impact factor assigned (Scopus CiteScore 1.1). Specialist journal for case reports involving diagnostic imaging. Publishes case reports only. Literature review required. Main text structured as Introduction / Case report / Discussion
Fees: Fully OA. Default license CC BY-NC-ND; can be changed to CC BY after acceptance if required by a funder. APC amount not stated in the guidelines (see the journal's OA page)
Reporting guidelines: Not specified (CARE not explicitly stated)
Peer review: double-blind; preprints allowed
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Respirology Case ReportsRespiratory · Wiley (APSR)–Yes–1502 figures, 2 tables5OA–Wiley Research Exchange–
Article types: Case Report / Case Series / Clinical Image / Case Video / Clinical Trial Protocol
Case reports: Case report specialist journal (APSR). Main text 900 words (1,500 words for 2 cases), 150-word abstract, 5 references, up to 2 figures and 2 tables. Dedicated template and consent form required. Indexed in PMC
Fees: APC: see the Wiley OA page. APSR member discount available
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →
Tohoku Journal of Experimental MedicineGeneral · Tohoku University Medical Press–Limited–250––OAUS$67Editorial Manager–
Case reports: As 'Clinical report', only if it substantially advances knowledge
Fees: Processing fee ¥10,000 plus page charge ¥5,000/page
PubMed: indexed
Open the Guide for Authors →

Word counts are the body-text limit for original articles (some journals include the abstract or references; see the detail row). “S” marks a structured abstract. APC is the publication charge for fully OA journals; for hybrid journals it is the fee if you choose OA (publishing under the subscription model is usually free). Days to first decision are publisher-reported.

Author guidelines change often. Always check the official page before you submit. Report errors via the contact form. Last updated September 2026.